MIMCO Inspired Handbag Makeover

It’s a little known secret that my favourite brand for handbags and accessories is MIMCO. The bad thing about this obsession is the price tag that is associated. I have previously posted my DIYs of MIMCO inspired Tassel Earrings and the matching Necklace which I often myself making excuses to wear every weekend.

Today I will show you how to add distressed gold onto bags just like this gorgeous Tote from MIMCO which retails for AUD$699:

You will need:

A bag, I chose a satchel bag from Kmart for AUD$19, gold leaf, leafing glue, two paint brushes, tissue paper and clear acrylic spray paint.

First things first. You will need to prepare the surface by wiping it down with a clean damp cloth. This will remove any dust and will ensure the glue adheres to the surface of the bag properly. After doing this use a paint brush to roughly paint on the leafing glue onto the chosen surface:

Let the glue get tacky for 25 minutes, this will make the gold leaf stick to the glue better.

Be careful when handling the gold leaf as it can and will break very easily. If you can eliminate any open windows or doors this will help during handling. I used 4 squares of gold leaf to cover the entire surface of the bag.

The video below shows how to use tissue paper to press the gold leaf into the glue and how to use your fingernail to roughly and randomly distress your leaf.

Next you will need to use the second paint brush to brush off any excess gold leaf and create further distressing.

Lastly use clear acrylic spray paint to create a lasting sheen and to seal surface.

Voila!

My new weekend bag!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “MIMCO Inspired Handbag Makeover”

  1. DIY Links of the Week 2.20 – 3.4.12 | Chic Steals Says:

    […] about this GORGEOUS DIY gold-leafed tote – a handbag makeover inspired by MIMCO by Beyond the Open Spaces?  It looks so expensive and […]

  2. Sara Says:

    I cannot believe this bag came from K-Mart! It was cute before but now it looks like a super-expensive designer creation. Great job!

  3. Alice Barton Says:

    Well done!! it looks great!!!! xx
    Alice Barton ♥ The Mow Way

  4. Soccer Mom Style a.k.a. Maya Says:

    Love the bag! Saw it on Carly’s site. I think my gold leaf flats would be perfect with the bag, don’t you?! lol

    I am into gold and gold leaf very much lately. My latest DIY was making a gold bar clutch out of tin pencil case.

    xx
    maya

  5. Soccer Mom Style a.k.a. Maya Says:

    woops, here is a link to my flats: http://www.etsy.com/listing/94319429/black-and-golden-foil-golden-leaf-pointy

  6. ljmulcahy Says:

    Thanks Maya! They are a perfect Match! I am loving gold leaf at the moment too! I want to add it to just about everything! I definately need a pair :D!

Leave a Reply

